Image Image Image Image Image

User access:

Scroll to Top

To Top

Lloyd Kramer

Lloyd works in both documentaries and scripted television. His latest project for The Documentary Group was directing Midsummer in Newtown, a feature documentary that first premiered at the 2016 Tribeca Film Festival, where it was runner-up for the Audience Choice Award. Lloyd was awarded Best Director – Special Jury Recognition at the Boston Film Festival for the film, which also won the Mass Impact award.

Previously for Doc Group, Lloyd directed and co-executive produced America in Primetime, a premier series on PBS showcasing the creative minds behind the new golden age of television. Lloyd also directed the critically praised Report From Ground Zero, a two-hour ABC Documentary Special which remains, for many, the comprehensive account of what happened inside the World Trade Center towers following the 9/11 attacks. Told from the point of view of the first responders, the film received the International Association of Firefighters’ highest award for Best Documentary on the subject of 9/11.

A graduate of Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism, Lloyd is a three-time Directors Guild nominee for Best Director. His first DGA nomination for Best Director/Documentary was for No One Dies Alone, a film detailing the effects of a single murder on a large family, which he produced and directed for Oprah Winfrey’s Harpo Productions.

Lloyd’s movies include the adaptation of Mitch Albom’s novel The Five People You Meet in Heaven, starring Jon Voight, which earned Lloyd a second DGA nomination for Best Director/Movies for Television. He also directed Before Women Had Wings, Amy and Isabelle, and For One More Day, which aired on ABC and for which he received his third DGA nomination as Best Director.

Lloyd first made his mark on camera in New York in the late 1980s with a highly acclaimed daily feature segment Lloyd’s of New York for the NBC station. At the same time, he produced and directed documentaries that won multiple Emmy Awards, as well as the New York Press Club Award.